Photo via Global News

Record $90M Lotto Max jackpot won in Alberta, OLG says

Read the original at Global News ↗
Cite

D’Andrea, A. (2026, October 21). Record $90M Lotto Max jackpot won in Alberta, OLG says. Global News. https://globalnews.ca/news/12110862/record-90m-lotto-max-jackpot-won-in-alberta-olg-says/

Dated from the outlet's own feed. Check the original for its byline.

Global News · collected 2026-10-21 · by Aaron D’Andrea

Quick Summary

The Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation announced that a record $90 million Lotto Max jackpot was won in Alberta after Tuesday night’s draw. The OLG did not specify if there was one winner or multiple but noted several winners across Ontario for smaller prizes, including three players who each won $1 million in Brant County, Toronto, and online. Additionally, twelve tickets worth $100,000 and five worth $50,000 were sold in other parts of the province.
Written by AI on 2026-10-21, from this article's own text only (the story summary below draws on all the coverage).

AI analysis

Story summary

The Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation (OLG) announced on Wednesday that a record-breaking $90 million Lotto Max jackpot, which had gone unclaimed for several draws, was finally won in Alberta following Tuesday night’s draw. The OLG did not specify whether there was one winner or multiple but confirmed that the winning ticket was not sold in Ontario. Additionally, three players across Ontario claimed $1 million each with MaxMillion prizes from the same draw—one in Brant County, another in Toronto, and an online purchase. In total, twelve tickets worth $100,000 and five tickets worth $50,000 for MaxPlus prizes were sold in various locations across Ontario. LottoMax draws occur every Tuesday and Friday.

Written for “Lotto Max Jackpot Won In Alberta” on 2026-10-31, grounded in this article and the 1 other(s) covering the same event.

Story

📰 Lotto Max Jackpot Won In Alberta
Entertainment · 2 article(s) covering the same event. See how they differ ↓

Compared with similar articles

This article reads unscored and hedges 0% of its claims. Each row says how that neighbour differs.
Toronto Star
Hedges 1 of 2 claims Outlet record 64/100
How this article was measured signals, leaning charts, publisher record, byline, topics and claims

Signals How these are calculated →

Claims extracted
9
sentences that state something as happening or true
Uncertain
0%
0 of 9 hedged ("reportedly", "may", "according to")
Leaning
not political
takes no side on a contested political question
Publisher signals
63/100
Global News's corrections and hedging, across everything collected from it. Not a measure of accuracy.
Outlets on this story
2
Entertainment
Same framing elsewhere
1
articles that frame the event the way this one does
Analyzed 2026-10-21 · how these are computed

How this is being covered How these are calculated →

Article leaning vs. publisher reliability
Source leaning vs. consistency

Publisher

Global News · 2603 article(s) · 11 correction(s) detected
Running correction rate · 11 correction(s)

Who wrote this

Aaron D’Andrea
29 article(s) here · 0 carrying a prediction
🔮 Montreal Mayor Soraya Martinez Ferrada says she trusts Police Chief Fady Dagher to change the service’s culture as he prepares to address a series of misconduct allegations involving officers.
🔮 Some Canadian police services continue to promote Crime Stoppers despite a data breach that may have exposed identifying information included in anonymous tips.
🔮 Rodd said that police have evidence that will corroborate the intent “in more detail,” but did not provide any specifics.
🔮 The National Capital Commission estimated in 2022 that restoring the residence would cost approximately $37 million.
🔮 A police spokesperson told Global News Friday the officers are from a downtown station but would not provide further details. The spokesperson said they couldn’t elaborate on the allegations due to police’s legal responsibilities to protect personal information about their employees.
🔮 The city said 129,745 advance votes were cast in the 2023 mayoral by-election, compared to 115,911 advanced votes in the 2022 election, 124,299 advanced votes in the 2018 election, 161,147 advanced votes in 2014 and 77,365 advance votes in 2010.
🔮 Police showed a video recording from the area of the shooting in which the shooter appears to tell Smith, “You are going to die for the Jews.” Rodd said that police have evidence that will corroborate the intent “in more detail,” but did not provide any specifics.
🔮 “Police take incidents like this extremely seriously and will continue to work closely with school boards to help identify the individuals responsible and lay the appropriate criminal charges when a suspect is identified.”
🔮 Toronto police are concerned there may be more victims in connection to a child luring investigation.
2026-10-02 · speculative framing · Toronto man facing charges in child luring investigation
🔮 On May 8, 2023, investigators executed search warrants at multiple locations across the Greater Toronto Area and seized five firearms, approximately 10 kilograms of methamphetamine and significant quantities of fentanyl and cocaine.
Also by Aaron D’Andrea
Nothing else under this byline is closely related to this article, so these are simply their most recent.
All 29 articles by Aaron D’Andrea →

Topics

Alberta MaxPlus OLG Ontario the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation

Subjects

OLG ORG · 2× Alberta GPE · 1× Alta. GPE · 1× Brant County GPE · 1× MaxMillion ORG · 1× Ontario GPE · 1× Quebec GPE · 1× Toronto GPE · 1× Wainwright GPE · 1× the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation ORG · 1×

Narrative

Young anglophones are still leaving Quebec, but at much lower rates, find researchers Twelve MaxPlus tickets each worth $100,000, and five MaxPlus tickets worth $50,000 were sold elsewhere in the province.
framing: assertive · carried by 1 article(s) · first seen 2026-10-21
2026-10-21 · Global News
Record $90M Lotto Max jackpot won in Alberta, OLG says · assertive framing

Claims (9 extracted, 0 hedged)

The record-setting $90 million Lotto Max jackpot was won in Alberta following Tuesday night’s draw, the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation says. asserted
Corporation → set → draw
The OLG didn’t say whether there was one winner or multiple in a news release Wednesday. asserted
OLG → say → release
The jackpot climbed to $90 million after several winner-less draws. asserted
jackpot → climb → draws
Get breaking National news The OLG said multiple Ontario-based players won MaxMillion and MaxPlus prizes Tuesday night. asserted
players → get → prizes
Three $1 million prizes were sold in Brant County, Toronto and online. asserted
prizes → sell → County
- Group assisting long-planned review of firearms — including SKS — has yet to meet - ‘Hurting’: Vigil in Wainwright, Alta., for soldiers caught in deadly fire - asserted
Group → assist → fire
Food bank visits rise to 2.3M a month as grocery costs go up, report says - asserted
report → rise → M
Young anglophones are still leaving Quebec, but at much lower rates, find researchers Twelve MaxPlus tickets each worth $100,000, and five MaxPlus tickets worth $50,000 were sold elsewhere in the province. asserted
tickets → leave → province
LottoMax draws happen every Friday and Tuesday. asserted
draws → happen → ?
💬Give feedback
🕘History 🎫Support